The 2012 UEFA European Football Championship, commonly referred to as Euro 2012, will be the 14th European Championship for national football teams sanctioned by UEFA. The final tournament will be hosted by Poland and Ukraine between 8 June and 1 July 2012.

The joint Poland/Ukraine bid was chosen by UEFA's Executive Committee on 18 April 2007, in Cardiff, Wales. This bid defeated the other shortlisted bids from Italy and Croatia/Hungary, becoming the third successful joint bid for the European Championship, after those of Belgium/Netherlands, for Euro 2000, and Austria/Switzerland for Euro 2008.

This will be the last European Championship finals in which only 16 nations will participate, with Euro 2016 being the first European Championship finals with 24 competing nations. Qualification for the final tournament will be staged between September 2010 and November 2011.

31 matches will be played during Euro 2012, with Ukraine hosting 16 matches and Poland 15. The breakdown of hosting duties is as follows:

  • Warsaw: 3 group matches including the opening match, quarter-final, and semi-final (5 matches in total)
  • Gdańsk: 3 group matches and a quarter-final
  • Wrocław: 3 group matches
  • Poznań: 3 group matches
  • Kiev: 3 group matches, quarter-final, semi-final, and final (6 matches in total)
  • Lviv: 3 group matches
  • Kharkiv: 3 group matches
  • Donetsk: 3 group matches and a quarter-final
Euro 2012 is set to feature 16 national teams, as has been the format since 1996. Many European football associations were in favour of expanding the tournament to 24 teams due to the much-increased number of UEFA members in recent years (53 in April 2006 compared to 33 prior to the break up of the Soviet Union and of Yugoslavia). However, on 17 April 2007, UEFA's Executive Committee formally decided against an expansion in 2012. This will be the last time a European Championship will feature 16 teams, as in September 2008 UEFA announced its plans to expand to 24 teams in Euro 2016.

The draw for the UEFA Euro 2012 qualifying round took place in Warsaw on 7 February 2010. This was the first time the new UEFA national team coefficient was used for seeding the teams. The qualifying draw determined the makeup of nine groups. Nine groups were formed in the qualifying draw including six sections of six sides and three of five, as teams chase 14 finals places alongside co-hosts Poland and Ukraine. The seeding pots are formed on the basis of the UEFA national team coefficient ranking system, finalised after the completion of FIFA World Cup qualifying, with the reigning European champions automatically top seeded. All groups contained one nation from the first five pots and six sections also included a team from Pot 6.

Related Post